14 Faculty Named 2022-2023 University Research Professors

From left: Lindsey Fay, Merlin Lindemann, Nancy Schoenberg, Daniela Moga, Kristine Hankins, Bobi Ivanov, Yuha Jung, Susan Chambers Cantrell, Judith Page, David Fardo and Carrie Oser. Not pictured: Theodore Schatzki, Alexandre Martin and Peter Nelson.

LEXINGTON, Ky. (April 29, 2022) — Today, the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees approved 14 University Research Professorships for the 2022-23 academic year. Established by the Board of Trustees in 1976, the professorships program recognizes excellence across the full spectrum of research, scholarship and creative endeavors at UK.

“It is truly gratifying to recognize these distinguished experts who have made significant contributions across the breadth of research fields at the University of Kentucky,” said Lisa Cassis, UK’s vice president for research. “The 2022-2023 University Research Professorship Awards honor 14 faculty members who have demonstrated excellence that addresses scientific, social, cultural and economic challenges in our region and around the world.”

College leadership developed criteria for excellence within their area of expertise, and then nominated faculty who excelled at these criteria. Each University Research Professor receives a one-year award of $10,000 to be used to further their research, scholarship and creative endeavors.

The 2022-23 University Research Professors are:

  • Merlin Lindemann: Animal and Food Sciences; College of Agriculture, Food and Environment
  • Theodore Schatzki: Geography; College of Arts and Sciences
  • Carrie Oser: Sociology; College of Arts and Sciences
  • Bobi Ivanov: Integrated Strategic Communication; College of Communication and Information
  • Lindsey Fay: Interiors; College of Design
  • Susan Chambers Cantrell: Curriculum and Instruction; College of Education
  • Alexandre Martin: Mechanical Engineering; College of Engineering
  • Yuha Jung: Arts Administration; College of Fine Arts
  • Kristine W. Hankins: Finance and Quantitative Methods; Gatton College of Business and Economics             
  • Judith L. Page: Communication Sciences and Disorders; College of Health Sciences
  • Nancy Schoenberg: Behavioral Science; College of Medicine
  • Peter Nelson: Sanders-Brown Center on Aging; College of Medicine          
  • Daniela C. Moga: Pharmacy Practice and Science; College of Pharmacy
  • David W. Fardo: Biostatistics; College of Public Health

This summer, the university will feature a 2022-23 University Research Professor each week on UKNow. Learn more about each professor’s area of research and how they are addressing scientific, social, health and economic challenges in Kentucky and beyond.

The University of Kentucky is increasingly the first choice for students, faculty and staff to pursue their passions and their professional goals. In the last two years, Forbes has named UK among the best employers for diversity, and INSIGHT into Diversity recognized us as a Diversity Champion four years running. UK is ranked among the top 30 campuses in the nation for LGBTQ* inclusion and safety. UK has been judged a “Great College to Work for" three years in a row, and UK is among only 22 universities in the country on Forbes' list of "America's Best Employers."  We are ranked among the top 10 percent of public institutions for research expenditures — a tangible symbol of our breadth and depth as a university focused on discovery that changes lives and communities. And our patients know and appreciate the fact that UK HealthCare has been named the state’s top hospital for five straight years. Accolades and honors are great. But they are more important for what they represent: the idea that creating a community of belonging and commitment to excellence is how we honor our mission to be not simply the University of Kentucky, but the University for Kentucky.