Campus News

10 To Be Inducted Into Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame March 31

LEXINGTON, Ky. ( Feb. 7, 2020) — A Pulitzer Prize winner, three television journalists, a Kentucky state government reporter, a Washington Post columnist, a longtime community journalist, a Washington, D.C.-based  journalist, a journalism educator, and one of Kentucky’s longest-tenured sports reporters make up the 40th class of the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame.

This year’s induction ceremony will be held March 31 at the University of Kentucky.

This year’s 10 inductees are:

  • Barbara Bailey, longtime anchor and reporter who has served four decades at WKYT-27 in Lexington;
  • Steve Crump, a reporter with WBTV-3 in Charlotte, North Carolina, who is also a documentary film producer;
  • Maxine Cheshire, a Harlan, Kentucky, native who had a distinguished career as the author of the “VIP” column in The Washington Post;
  • Ronnie Ellis, a veteran newspaper reporter who most recently served as Frankfort, Kentucky, correspondent for Community Newspaper Holdings Inc.;
  • Michael Hedges, deputy editor of the AARP Bulletin and former Washington, D.C., newspaper editor and investigative reporter and international reporter; 
  • Maria Henson, associate vice president at Wake Forest University and a former newspaper editor and editorial writer whose work at the Lexington Herald-Leader and Sacramento Bee resulted in Pulitzer Prizes;
  • Rachel Platt, director of community engagement for the Frazier History Museum and a former reporter and news anchor with WHAS-11 in Louisville, Kentucky; 
  • Mike Scogin, longtime president and publisher of the Georgetown (Kentucky) News-Graphic;
  • Russell Shain, a Lexington native and retired journalism educator whose career included serving as dean of the Arkansas State University College of Communications; and
  • Jerry Tipton, who has been a sports writer for the Lexington Herald-Leader since 1981, including almost 40 years covering University of Kentucky men’s basketball.

In addition to the ten 2020 inductees, Bruce Johnson, who was not able to attend his 2019 induction, will be recognized and presented with his 2019 Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame award.

Created by the University of Kentucky Journalism Alumni Association in 1981, the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame honors achieving journalists who are Kentucky natives or have spent a significant portion of their careers working for Kentucky media organizations. More than 200 individuals, both with and without formal ties to UK, have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame is housed in the School of Journalism and Media within the College of Communication and Information at the University of Kentucky.

The 2020 induction ceremony will be held at noon ET March 31 at UK’s Gatton Student Center.

Tickets, which include parking and a student ticket sponsorship, are $75 per person. For more information, contact UK School of Journalism and Media Project Manager John Cruz at or 859-257-3904.

Register to attend at  and click the blue “registration” button at the bottom of the page.

As the state’s flagship, land-grant institution, the University of Kentucky exists to advance the Commonwealth. We do that by preparing the next generation of leaders — placing students at the heart of everything we do — and transforming the lives of Kentuckians through education, research and creative work, service and health care. We pride ourselves on being a catalyst for breakthroughs and a force for healing, a place where ingenuity unfolds. It's all made possible by our people — visionaries, disruptors and pioneers — who make up 200 academic programs, a $476.5 million research and development enterprise and a world-class medical center, all on one campus.   

In 2022, UK was ranked by Forbes as one of the “Best Employers for New Grads” and named a “Diversity Champion” by INSIGHT into Diversity, a testament to our commitment to advance Kentucky and create a community of belonging for everyone. While our mission looks different in many ways than it did in 1865, the vision of service to our Commonwealth and the world remains the same. We are the University for Kentucky.