Three Postdoctoral Scientists Highlighted During College of Medicine Poster Session


LEXINGTON, Ky. (Jan. 27, 2016) — The University of Kentucky College of Medicine recently hosted the eighth annual Postdoctoral Poster Presentation Session where three students received top honors for significant research in diverse medical science subjects.

Nineteen posters from the basic and clinical sciences were presented in the atrium of the Biomedical Biological Sciences Research Building in December. The program is designed as a training exercise to prepare postdoctoral students for presenting research at conferences. The top three papers receive monetary prizes and will be presented during the Dean’s Distinguished Lecture Series on May 6, 2016. Honorees include:

• Prabhakara Nagareddy, a postdoctoral researcher in the Saha Cardiovascular Research Center, received first place for his paper “Myelopoiesis following myocardial ischemia (MI) involves activation of the Nlrp3 inflammasome by neutrophil-derived S100a8/a9.”• Catalina Velez-Ortega in the Department of Physiology won second prize for the study titled, “Ionic current through mechanotransduction channels drives actin core remodeling at the tips of auditory hair cell stereocilia.”• Department of Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry student Madushi Raththagala receive third prize for her work on “Structural mechanism of laforin function in glycogen dephosphorylation and lafora disease.”

The Poster Session was sponsored by the Postdoctoral Advisory Committee and Office of Biomedical Education.

MEDIA CONTACT: Elizabeth Adams,