Professional News

National Archives, UK Libraries Taking Applicants for Civics/History Teachers' Award

LEXINGTON, Ky. (March 23, 2015)  The National Archives and the University of Kentucky Wendell  H. Ford Public Policy Research Center are currently taking applications for the Earle C. Clements Innovation in Education Award for Civics and History Teachers (Clements Award). The deadline for submission for the Clements Award, recognizing promising and innovative Kentucky high school educators, is Friday, April 10.

The Clements Award honors the life and career of the late Earle C. Clements and his lifelong commitment to education and public service. Clements’ political career included service as a county sheriff, clerk and judge; in the state senate and as governor; and in the U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate, where he was a close colleague to future President Lyndon Baines Johnson.

Three high school history and/or civics (social studies) teachers throughout the Commonwealth of Kentucky will be selected by an independent review panel for the Clements Award and will receive $1,000 each. The award criteria include the following: 

  • teacher’s knowledge of, and enthusiasm for, the subject and commitment to increasing student awareness of the importance of public service; 
  • demonstrates expertise in civics and history content and the ability to share it with students;
  • impact on student success; and
  • evidence of creativity and innovation.

Interested applicants must submit the following by email or postmarked mail by April 10, 2015:

  • completed application;
  • letter from applicant addressing criteria; 
  • letter of support from principal; 
  • sample assignment; and
  • other supporting materials, including student letters of support.

Application packets may be completed electronically at or sent via mail to: Clements Award, Wendell H. Ford Public Policy Research Center, Margaret I. King Library, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY 40506-0039.


Winners of the Clements Award will be notified May 4 and will be recognized at an award ceremony to be held in June in Lexington.

For more information on the Clements Awards or to send questions, email Deirdre Scaggs, associate dean of UK Special Collections Research Center, at (put Clements Award in the subject line).

The National Archives is an independent federal agency that serves American democracy by safeguarding and preserving the records of our government, so people can discover, use and learn from this documentary heritage. The National Archives ensures continuing access to the essential documentation of the rights of American citizens and the actions of their government. From the Declaration of Independence to accounts of ordinary Americans, the holdings of the National Archives directly touch the lives of millions of people. The agency supports democracy, promotes civic education and facilitates historical understanding of our national experience. The National Archives carries out its mission through a nationwide network of archives, records centers and Presidential Libraries, and on the Internet at

UK Special Collections Research Center is home to UK Libraries' collection of rare books, Kentuckiana, the Archives, the Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History, the King Library Press, the Wendell H. Ford Public Policy Research Center, the Bert T. Combs Appalachian collection and the digital library, ExploreUK. The mission of the center is to locate and preserve materials documenting the social, cultural, economic and political history of the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

MEDIA CONTACT: Whitney Hale, 859-257-8716;