Professional News

UK Design Recognizes Excellence of Faculty, Staff, Alums


LEXINGTON, Ky. (March 31, 2015)  Eleven faculty, staff and alumni and one local architecture and interior design firm have taken honors at the University of Kentucky College of Design Celebrating Excellence Awards Dinner held March 26, at the Hilary J. Boone Center.

Two Distinguished Alumni Awards for Professional Achievement were presented to Wayne Braun and Lonn Combs. Braun is the design director of creative design firm PDR. Combs is cofounder of EASTON+COMBS. Recipients of this award have attained prominence through his or her efforts in the professions of architecture, design, interiors and/or historic preservation, as well as other worthy endeavors that form a record of accomplishment, expanding the body of knowledge through his or her contributions to his or her field.

Jack Weber received the Distinguished Alumni Award for Service to the College. Weber is a partner at Gresham, Smith and Partners. The award recognizes a recipient's deeds and actions reflecting the importance of his or her educational training, pride in alma mater and loyalty to UK, as demonstrated through their interest in and support of the college and its programs.

The Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award was presented to both Mike McKay, assistant professor of architecture, and Lindsey Fay, assistant professor of interiors. Conferred by the dean, the award recognizes the breadth of teaching activities that happen in the college (studios, lecture courses, education abroad, community projects, advising master’s projects, piloting new courses, curricular innovation, partnerships with faculty, departments, colleges, universities, community groups, etc.).

Gary Rohrbacher, assistant professor of architecture, was presented with the Faculty Excellence in Research Award. The honor, bestowed by the dean, recognizes the value of both scholarly publications and creative work in the college (articles, book chapters, reports, exhibitions, community activities, competitions, design awards, invited lectures, outstanding presentations, etc.).

The Faculty Excellence in Service Award was presented to Faith Harders, head of the Hunter M. Adams College of Design Library. The award reflects a critical aspect of UK as a public, land grant university. The dean annually presents this award to recognize professional service to the college, university, community and/or profession.

The Friend of the College Award went to Barbara Hulette and EOP Architects. Hulette is a board member of the Ida Lee Willis Memorial Foundation and chair of the advisory board of the Blue Grass Trust for Historic Preservation. EOP Architects is a Kentucky architecture and interior design firm specializing in higher education, K-12, research, health care, fitness, corporate and civic projects. In selecting a recipient of this award, the UK College of Design Dean Ann Whiteside-Dickson, the college's executive committee and awards committee consider a nominee’s excellence in the following areas: contributions to building a better department, school, college, or university community; extraordinary financial support to college priorities; and/or demonstrated record of commitment to one or more of the college’s initiatives.  

Gregory Luhan, associate dean for research and associate professor of architecture, and Allison Carll White, professor of interiors, received the Dean's Award for Special Service. The honor is awarded to faculty and/or administrators who demonstrate overall excellence, and unwavering support of the college, its programs and its students.

The Dean's Award for Staff Excellence was presented to Ginny Miller, a business officer in the UK College of Design. The dean yearly confers an award to recognize the excellence of a staff member. The dean, the executive committee, and the awards committee may consider a nominee’s excellence in the following areas, coinciding with the university’s Campus Core Competencies: dependability; diversity and inclusion; initiative; integrity; interpersonal relationships; and commitment to students, the university community, and its stakeholders.

Each award winner was presented with a pewter cup recognizing their achievement. In addition, faculty and staff received a $500 cash award with their honors. 

MEDIA CONTACT: Whitney Hale, 859-257-8716;