Professional News

Martin School Calls for Lyons Nominations

LEXINGTON, Ky. (March 11, 2010) - The William E. Lyons Award Committee is continuing to request nominations for the 2010 Lyons Award for Outstanding Service.
This annual honor is given to an individual associated with the University of Kentucky who has given exceptional assistance to the university, the community or the Commonwealth.
The award is a tribute to William E. Lyons, who was a professor of political science and public administration, the director of the Martin School, chair of the Department of Political Science, chair of the Lexington-Fayette County Merger Commission and a member of the Urban County Council, among other university and government committees throughout his time in Lexington.
Those wishing to recommend someone for the $500 award and honorary plaque should submit a letter of nomination identifying the specific contributions of the candidate. If possible, also include the résumé of the person nominated. Nominations must include the name, address, telephone number and e-mail address of the nominator.
All nominations should be submitted by mail or e-mail to:
William E. Lyons Award Committee
423 Patterson Office Tower
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-00027
The deadline for nominations is April 1, 2010.