Student and Academic Life

Omicron Delta Kappa Inducts 56 New Members

Omicron Delta Kappa virtual induction ceremony.
Omicron Delta Kappa recently held a virtual induction ceremony.

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Jan. 27, 2021) — The University of Kentucky Nu Circle of national leadership honor society Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) inducted 56 new members at a virtual ceremony on Dec. 9. ODK recognizes superior leadership and exemplary character and encourages collaboration among members across the five phases celebrated by the society: scholarship, athletics, service, communications and arts.

The Circle was established on May 2, 1925, and was recognized with a Superior Circle award from the national organization in 2018.

"Being able to build community and meet as a chapter has definitely been a challenge this semester due to restrictions concerning COVID-19, but we were able to welcome our new members via a virtual induction ceremony,” said 2020 Circle President Abby Vicars. “It was great to see the faces of all our new members who are committed to being leaders in their community and embodying ODK's ideals. We look forward to seeing what they accomplish as members of the Nu Circle and are eager to support them in their development as leaders in our community."

The 2020 inductees are: Ryann Belcher, Olivia Bryant, Kendell Clark, Jacob Coffman, Juan Cruz, Alexandria Davis, Lauren Duespohl, Kendall DuLaney, Alysa EvansSaintClaire, Amelia Floyd, Katelyn Freese, Noah Gadd, Remy Gaines, Kara Haywood, Daniel Herrada, Abigail Higgins, Natalie Holzer, Grace Ison, Grace Jacobs, Kendall Jones, Abby Karazsia, Kristen Karem, Gretchin Kepplinger, Ronald Kincaid, Jr., Jaden Kopser, Daniel Lewis, DaVanna Lockett, Katherine Lopez, Maliha Alma Marium, Savannah Miller, Clayton Monarch, Olivia Morris-Bush, Michaela Neal, Tylee Oldham, Emma Olmstead, Jachimike Onuoha, William Ransdell, Elijah Raymond, Hallie Rice, Claudia Robertson, Eleanor Robertson, McKenna Roe, Simone Rudolph, Megan Schildt, Brendan Simpson, Henry Smith, Reagan Smith, Clarissa Somers, Madelyn Steineker, Gabrielle Thompson, Robert Vaughan, Ashley Watkins, Johnathan Wessel, Ally Windland, William Worden, and Kathleen Wright.

Omicron Delta Kappa is supported on campus by the Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence within the Office of the Provost. For more information on membership, contact

The University of Kentucky is increasingly the first choice for students, faculty and staff to pursue their passions and their professional goals. In the last two years, Forbes has named UK among the best employers for diversity, and INSIGHT into Diversity recognized us as a Diversity Champion four years running. UK is ranked among the top 30 campuses in the nation for LGBTQ* inclusion and safety. UK has been judged a “Great College to Work for" three years in a row, and UK is among only 22 universities in the country on Forbes' list of "America's Best Employers."  We are ranked among the top 10 percent of public institutions for research expenditures — a tangible symbol of our breadth and depth as a university focused on discovery that changes lives and communities. And our patients know and appreciate the fact that UK HealthCare has been named the state’s top hospital for five straight years. Accolades and honors are great. But they are more important for what they represent: the idea that creating a community of belonging and commitment to excellence is how we honor our mission to be not simply the University of Kentucky, but the University for Kentucky.