Student News

Chellgren Center inducts new fellows, celebrates graduating class

Graduating Chellgren Fellows.

LEXINGTON, Ky. (April 30, 2024) — The University of Kentucky Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence is honored to announce the 2024 class of Chellgren Student Fellows.

The Chellgren Center Student Fellows Program aligns with the university’s goal of cultivating undergraduate excellence by providing experiences that go beyond the classroom. Through the program, students become prepared for the next phase of their career, whether it be graduate school, a position in their field or a gap year dedicated to service.

The program is open to all majors and takes place during the student's second year at the university. Outstanding faculty members from across campus serve as individual mentors for the Fellows. Through regular meetings and conversations, mentors will help students develop strategies for engaging in the intellectual life of the university. This year’s cohort includes 29 high-achieving freshman students all excited for what is to come. 

“As an incoming Chellow, I’m thrilled to embark on this journey,” said Laura Ribeiro Da Mata Silva, College of Communication and Information student. “I am excited to work with people who have the same passion as me and with this amazing staff. I don’t know what to expect from it. And that is what amazes me the most.” 

New fellows include (* indicates student is also a member of the Lewis Honors College): 

  • Alyssa Chiarello; Martin-Gatton College of Agriculture, Food and Environment
  • Ivy Addo; College of Arts and Sciences
  • Hunter Coady; College of Arts and Sciences*
  • Misa Devries; College of Arts and Sciences*
  • Claire Martin; College of Arts and Sciences*
  • Lillian Melton; College of Arts and Sciences
  • Leah Russell; College of Arts and Sciences*
  • Jackson Schwamburger; College of Arts and Sciences*
  • Grace Yi; College of Arts and Sciences*
  • Regan Slish; Gatton College of Business and Economics
  • Adah Hufana; College of Communication and Information
  • Laura Silva; College of Communication and Information
  • Kylie Armstrong; College of Education*
  • Tristan Herzog; College of Education
  • Tara Bose; Stanley and Karen Pigman College of Engineering
  • Mark Bowling; Stanley and Karen Pigman College of Engineering
  • Taylor Davis; Stanley and Karen Pigman College of Engineering*
  • Sarah Freeland; Stanley and Karen Pigman College of Engineering*
  • Luis Nunes; Stanley and Karen Pigman College of Engineering*
  • Joy Resig; Stanley and Karen Pigman College of Engineering*
  • Lizzie Scheetz; Stanley and Karen Pigman College of Engineering*
  • Lance Wyse; Stanley and Karen Pigman College of Engineering*
  • Gabrielle Beacham; College of Fine Arts*
  • Dorottya Gal; College of Fine Arts*
  • Zoe Stefanic; College of Fine Arts
  • Martin Keltee; College of Health Sciences
  • Chloe Olegario; College of Health Sciences*
  • Akua Asamoah; College of Public Health*

As the Chellgren Center prepares to welcome its new fellows, they are also saying goodbye to its 2020 class of students. As the students wrap up their time at the university and prepare for their next chapter, they reflect on what their time with the Chellgren Center has meant to them.

“The mentorship I have received from the Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence perfectly embodies the mission statement of this institution.” Said Chase Eastham, graduating senior in the Martin-Gatton College of Agriculture, Food and Environment. “Studying here at the University of Kentucky has provided me with the opportunity to develop more than simply a bank of knowledge. I think the faculty and staff do a wonderful job creating inclusive environments focused on helping students develop growth mindsets.”

Graduating Chellows include (* indicates student is also a member of the Lewis Honors College): 

  • Chase Eastham; Martin-Gatton College of Agriculture, Food and Environment*
  • Megan Johnston; Martin-Gatton College of Agriculture, Food and Environment*
  • Olivia Allran; College of Arts and Sciences*
  • Madison Baker; College of Arts and Sciences*
  • Isha Chauhan; College of Arts and Sciences*
  • Ryan Crane; College of Arts and Sciences
  • Christine Haddad; College of Arts and Sciences*
  • Leena Haider; College of Arts and Sciences*
  • Shria Holla; College of Arts and Sciences*
  • Tesslyn Hutchinson; College of Arts and Sciences
  • Katelyn Keen; College of Arts and Sciences
  • Abbey Loar; College of Arts and Sciences
  • Sandy Nino; College of Arts and Sciences*
  • Nicholas Relich; College of Arts and Sciences*
  • Hallie Rice; College of Arts and Sciences*
  • Caroline Sumner; College of Arts and Sciences*
  • Olivia Swanbeck; College of Arts and Sciences
  • Zora Woolfolk; College of Arts and Sciences*
  • Megan Wiley; Gatton College of Business and Economics*
  • Eliza Crans; College of Communication and Information
  • Seun Adekunle, Stanley and Karen Pigman College of Engineering*
  • Anna Erpenbeck; Stanley and Karen Pigman College of Engineering*
  • Madilyn Flandermeyer; Stanley and Karen Pigman College of Engineering
  • Jackson Huse; Stanley and Karen Pigman College of Engineering
  • Elizabeth Ruschman; College of Health Sciences*
  • Kassidy Maust; College of Public Health
  • Kotomi Yokokura; College of Social Work*

“In ending my second year as the director of the Chellgren Center, I am continuously amazed by the many outstanding scholars and undergraduate researchers I have met, and I look forward to working with the 18th class of Chellgren Student Fellows beginning in August 2024,” said Isabel C. Escobar, Chellgren endowed chair. “When I began in July 2022, my vision was to broaden the reach of the Center beyond the classroom with an annual trip to Washington DC and a biannual one to England. We have developed strong ties within to make these happen with the Office of Federal Relations, Alumni Relations, Study Abroad, and Philanthropy, among others, to help us reach these goals. The five Chellgren Endowed Professors are continuing to reach their educational plans, and the three Faculty Fellows are bringing successful projects to an end.” 

The Chellgren Student Fellows Program is supported by the Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence within the Office of the Provost. To learn more about the Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence, please visit

As the state’s flagship, land-grant institution, the University of Kentucky exists to advance the Commonwealth. We do that by preparing the next generation of leaders — placing students at the heart of everything we do — and transforming the lives of Kentuckians through education, research and creative work, service and health care. We pride ourselves on being a catalyst for breakthroughs and a force for healing, a place where ingenuity unfolds. It's all made possible by our people — visionaries, disruptors and pioneers — who make up 200 academic programs, a $476.5 million research and development enterprise and a world-class medical center, all on one campus.   

In 2022, UK was ranked by Forbes as one of the “Best Employers for New Grads” and named a “Diversity Champion” by INSIGHT into Diversity, a testament to our commitment to advance Kentucky and create a community of belonging for everyone. While our mission looks different in many ways than it did in 1865, the vision of service to our Commonwealth and the world remains the same. We are the University for Kentucky.