Campus News

Faculty, Students Asked to Choose Outstanding Staff Person

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Sept. 15, 2017) When the annual University of Kentucky Outstanding Staff Awards (OSA) are presented Oct. 10, at the Woodford Reserve Club at Kroger Field, there will be three new awardees, chosen by the community they serve.

The three new staff awards include an award to a staff member from the faculty; a staff member recognized by students; and a staff member selected by the Staff Senate. The Staff Senate, organizers of the annual Staff Awards presentation event, is asking the faculty and students to choose a staff member who is the “highest performer.”

Faculty members and students can go to to enter information about their nominee.

Nominations must be entered by Friday, Sept. 22, 2017.

The Office of the President and the UK Staff Senate sponsor the annual Outstanding Staff Awards Program to recognize the professional accomplishments of staff across the university and the work of their colleges and units. Individuals who have been designated as outstanding staff of the year in their respective service areas as well as those chosen by the community at-large will be honored by President Eli Capilouto, Staff Senate Chair Jon Gent and others on Oct. 10, at Kroger Field.

Registration is now open to attend the awards program, and award sponsors may click here to register. The event registration deadline is Sept. 22.  

Official invitations will be extended to honorees and other special guests. For questions regarding the OSA program, please contact Jon Gent, chair of the Staff Senate, at, 859-323-6540 or Brittany Begley, vice chair of the Outstanding Staff Awards event, at or 859-257-9242.

UK is the University for Kentucky. At UK, we are educating more students, treating more patients with complex illnesses and conducting more research and service than at any time in our 150-year history. To read more about the UK story and how you can support continued investment in your university and the Commonwealth, go to: #uk4ky #seeblue