Campus News

Senior Stars, Centenarians Honored at Annual Dinner

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Sept. 7, 2010) An amazing group of Kentucky senior citizens will be recognized for contributions to their communities at the University of Kentucky Sanders-Brown Center on Aging Foundation's 24th annual dinner Sept. 7 at the Marriott Griffin Gate Resort in Lexington. This year's guest speaker is Jim Host, founding chairman of the Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games.

Each year, the UK Sanders-Brown Center on Aging Foundation recognizes Kentuckians who are making lasting contributions in professional and/or community life and who set high standards to inspire others by presenting the Senior Star and Centenarian awards.

"The awards are an excellent opportunity to recognize and honor those who exemplify graceful aging by remaining engaged in an active lifestyle," said Cheryl Blanton Feigel, Sanders-Brown Foundation board member and chair of the outreach committee.

This year's Dr. William R. Markesbery Senior Stars include Dr. James E. (Ted) Bassett III, 89, Phyllis Jenness, 87, Vivian Weil, 92, and Adalin Stern Wichman, 87, all of Lexington, and Dr. Everett (Doc) W. Schaeffer, 92, and his wife, Roberta, 95, of Berea. Candidates are nominated by individuals, organizations and other groups. Two years ago, the foundation board members voted unanimously to rename the award in honor of UK Sanders-Brown Center on Aging Director Dr. William R. Markesbery, the first director of the center who died this year.

Also being honored are the 2010 Dr. David R. Wekstein Centenarian Award recipients who include Peter F. Koreck, 100, of Louisville, Josephine T. McElvey, 100, of Lexington, and Gershon Schulman, 100, of Versailles. This award is named for the professor emeritus of physiology and biophysics, UK College of Medicine, and former associate director of the Sanders-Brown Center on Aging.

"The UK Sanders-Brown Center on Aging Foundation is fortunate to have a number of very deserving seniors nominated each year for the Senior Star Award and Centenarian Award," said Feigel. "Each of the nominees is a model for remaining active and involved during retirement years. Our award recipients this year epitomize the word 'involved' and we are so very proud to recognize them for all the many contributions they continue to make to our Commonwealth and its people." 

You can read more about each of the individuals to be honored by clicking on the links below:  

Senior Star Dr. James E. (Ted) Bassett III

Senior Star Phyllis Jenness

Senior Star Vivian Weil

Senior Star Adalin Stern Wichman

Senior Stars Roberta and Dr. Everett (Doc) W. Schaeffer

Centenarian Gershon Schulman

Centenarian Peter F. Koreck

Centenarian Josephine T. McElvey