Professional News

Eight UK Faculty Members Awarded SEC Travel Grants

SECU logo

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Sept. 18, 2017) Eight University of Kentucky faculty members are among more than 100 faculty members from all 14 Southeastern Conference universities taking part in the 2017-18 SEC Faculty Travel Program. Now in its sixth year, the program provides support for selected individuals to collaborate with colleagues at other SEC member institutions.

The UK faculty and their departments are: Babak Bazrgari, Biomedical Engineering; Kenneth Campbell, Physiology; Tom Clayton, English; Kenneth Graham, Chemistry; Ji Youn Kim, Management; Susan Odom, Chemistry; Jill Rappoport, English; and Beth Rous, Educational Leadership.

Associate Professor Monica Visonà of the School of Art and Visual Studies in UK's College of Fine Arts participated in the SEC Travel Program last year and found it beneficial on many levels.

"While the face-to-face meetings enabled me and my colleagues to complete our research project, an unexpected benefit of this SEC grant was the opportunity to see, firsthand, how they have managed their resources to address challenges that are very similar to our own," she said.

Through the program, the SEC provides financial assistance for its faculty members to travel to other SEC universities to exchange ideas, develop grant proposals, conduct research and deliver lectures or performances. Program participants from each SEC university will travel throughout the academic year.

The SEC Faculty Travel Program is administered by SECU, the academic initiative of the Southeastern Conference. The SEC supports and promotes the academic endeavors of the students and faculty at its 14 member institutions.

 Click here for a full list of 2017-18 SEC Faculty Travel Program participants.