UK Center of Membrane Sciences Honors Student Research

LEXINGTON, Ky. (April 28, 2014) -- The University of Kentucky Center of Membrane Sciences’ 2014 Graduate Student Mentoring Fellowship Merit Award will honor five students for their research in membrane science this Friday.

The awards range from $1,250-$2,500 and recognize the students as well as the encouragement from their professors who played a large role in mentoring them. These monies are being used to support the students’ summer salary.

The Graduate Students receiving the 2014 Graduate Student Mentoring Fellowship Merit Awards and their mentors are:

-Na-Ra Lee, mentored by Pharmacy Professor Linda Dwoskin 

-Faruk Moonschi, mentored by Chemistry Professor Chris Richards

-Daniel Schlipf, mentored by Chemicals and Materials Engineering Professor Barbara Knutson

-Xu (Susan) Wang and Jiayi (Olivia) Yang (each half-time), mentored by Animal Sciences Professor Youling Xiong

These students will be officially recognized at a ceremony and luncheon at UK's Hilary J. Boone Center this Friday. 

The Center’s Fellowship award emanates from the Director of the Center of Membrane Sciences, Professor Allan Butterfield’s Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM) presented to him in 1998 by President Bill Clinton in the White House.

The Center of Membrane Sciences was established to foster multidisciplinary research on biological and synthetic membranes and their interface and has done so through the collaboration of Faculty Associates from six departments and five colleges throughout UK’s campus.