Student and Academic Life

New Senate Chamber Named for UK Board Chair, Former SGA President

photo of Britt Brockman speaking at Senate Chamber dedication
photo of UK President Eli Capilouto and Board Chair Britt Brockman after unveiling of name over Senate Chamber door.
Photo of SGA President Michael Hamilton and Senate President Dylan Byrum.r
photo of interior of Senate Chamber

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Sept. 14, 2018) On Thursday, Sept. 13, members of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees and Student Government gathered in the new Student Government Senate Chamber inside of the Gatton Student Center to dedicate the space.

The new Senate Chamber has been named the E. Britt Brockman, M.D. Senate Chamber for UK alumnus and Board of Trustees Chair Britt Brockman.

Brockman hails from LaRue County and attended UK from 1977 to 1982. During that time, he served as student body president and graduated with a bachelor's degree in pharmacy. He went on to attend medical school at the University of Louisville and became board certified in ophthalmology. Brockman, who practices in Louisville, also serves on several boards across the state of Kentucky and is a business leader in the region.

“In this chamber, differences will melt away, as leaders from student organizations across our campus come together with an unquenchable commitment toward resolving common problems," Brockman said. "In a new and incomparable place, they will foster what so many who came before them reached for … they will build community.”

UK President Eli Capilouto praised Brockman’s accomplishments and eternal support of the university and spoke to what the new space will mean to students and organizations.

“In this new, technology-rich Senate Chamber, students will examine and contest ideas, debate pressing issues, and advocate for the interests of their classmates and peers," Capilouto said. "It is fitting that the chamber is located in the heart of the Gatton Student Center, which serves as the living room of our campus.”

Student leaders are already seeing the impact of the chamber on campus.

“The Senate Chamber is somewhat of a hidden gem within the new Student Center, but once you see it, it makes a big impression," said Student Government President Michael Hamilton. "It has already been the home for student action and advocacy, and it will continue to be for generations to come. We are very thankful for the contributions made by Dr. Brockman, and we are so glad that he is such a strong advocate for students.”

The opening of the new Gatton Student Center brought new life to student organizations all over campus. The new spaces it provides will foster student success and involvement is revolutionizing the student experience. The E. Britt Brockman, M.D. Senate Chamber will not only accommodate regular Senate meetings but will also serve as a place for students to study and for other organizations to hold meetings.

Student Government Senate President Dylan Byrum said, “The new Senate Chamber has been a resource that fosters constructive conversations for the betterment of the community we call home. The facility is the new heart of our organization and has already proven its significance in establishing and maintaining relationships with students on campus.”

UK is the University for Kentucky. At UK, we are educating more students, treating more patients with complex illnesses and conducting more research and service than at any time in our 150-year history. To read more about the UK story and how you can support continued investment in your university and the Commonwealth, go to: #uk4ky #seeblue