Campus News

2023 Lead Blue awards recognize student, staff leaders

This year's Lead Blue awards were held April 26. Pictured above are student representatives from their respective organizations.

LEXINGTON, Ky. (May 9, 2023) — The University of Kentucky Office of Student Organizations and Activities (SOA) continues the campus tradition of awarding and recognizing individual students and registered student organizations through hosting the Lead Blue: Student Organizations Celebration and Award Ceremony. The Lead Blue Awards recognize the successes and accomplishments of student leaders, registered and sponsored student organizations and their student organization advisors. This year’s ceremony was hosted Wednesday, April 26, in the Gatton Student Center’s Worsham Cinema. THe 177 total nominations introduced phenomenal student leaders across campus and displayed incredible successes of our campus organizations.

UK SOA wants to extend a special thank you to all registered student organization staff and faculty advisors, student leaders, members and student organizations for developing our campus home into a place centered on belonging, involvement and student success. Congratulations to all awardees:

Individual Awards

Diversity and Inclusion: Princess Magor Agbozo

Student Organization Officer of the Year: Dawson Lancaster

Student Organization Member of the Year: Kendall Hoofe

Emerging Leader: Isabel Ashley

Leadership Legacy: Elnoel Akwa

Advisor of the Year: Mary Clark

Sullivan Award, presented by the Office of the President, Student Recipients: Jessica Lamb and Alex Degen

Sullivan Award, presented by the Office of the President, Community Member Recipients: Christine Smith, Ph.D.

Darrell A. VanMeter Service Award: Alex Degen

Lyman T. Johnson Scholarship: Princess Magor Agbozo

Student Group Awards

Diversity and Inclusion: Black is Gold University

Program of the Year (over 50 members): Student Activities Board and Collegiate Curls

Program of the year (under 50 members): Alternative Service Breaks

Civic Engagement Awards (Service-Based): The Campus Kitchen

Civic Engagement Awards (Non Service-Based): College Democrats

Collaboration Award: Hues in Medicine, Student National Dental Association, Minority Students in Neuroscience and College of Medicine Office of Diversity and Inclusion

New Student Organization of the Year: The Food Club

Student Organization of the Year: Hues in Medicine

Within the awards ceremony, the UK Student Government Association also recognized donor awards and scholarship recipients.

Student Government Association Scholarship Awards

Academic Excellence Scholarships (Undergraduate Receipients): Riley Pate and Danie Ashley Ayimbombi

Academic Excellence Scholarships (Graduate Recipients): Faraneh Fathi and Mel Lesch

UKSGA Constitutional Scholarship: Annie Deitz and Margaux Danby

Donor Awards

Shane Carlin and Annie Sit Inclusion Award: NAACP and Student Parent Organization

Robert and Freda Carlin “Unsung Hero” Award (Student Recipient): Elnoel Akwa

Robert and Freda Carlin “Unsung Hero” Award (Staff Recipient): Salem Awwad

Otis A. Singletary Outstanding Senior Award: Allyson Carson and Kayla Horne

Otis A. Singletary Outstanding Senior Award (Finalists): Kayli Bolton and Nashia Olise

At the University of Kentucky, students are at the center of all that we do. From the moment you become a Wildcat through graduation and beyond, the Office for Student Success is committed to supporting you. Comprised of five areas and 25 units, together, they have one vision — to help students live a life of meaning. Student Success works through an equitable, holistic and inclusive lens to design and deliver unparalleled services and support a diverse community of learners in achieving their wildest ambitions. In the Office for Student Success this is what we do — this is who we are. You can explore resources available to you here. If you have additional questions, you can reach a Student Success team member by calling the helpline 859-218-YouK (9685).