Campus News

Alumni Association Announces Great Teachers

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Feb. 9, 2010) – Six University of Kentucky professors have been recognized by the UK Alumni Association for their excellence in the classroom. These recipients of its 2010 Great Teacher Awards will be honored at the Great Teacher Awards Banquet at 5:45 p.m. today, Feb. 9, at the Hyatt Regency Lexington Hotel.

The 2010 recipients are Tracy A. Campbell, Andrea L. Dennis, Dr. David R. Gore, Giuseppe Labianca, Graham D. Rowles and J. Darlene Welsh.

Tracy A. Campbell is professor of history and co-director of the Wendell H. Ford Public Policy Research Center in the UK College of Arts and Sciences. He joined the faculty in 1999.  

Andrea L. Dennis is an assistant professor of law in the UK College of Law. She joined the faculty in 2006 and teaches criminal law, criminal trial process, criminal law and procedure seminar, children and the law, and family law.

Dr. David R. Gore is a faculty member in the restorative and prosthodontic division in the UK College of Dentistry. He is also course director for five separate courses. He joined the faculty in 2001 after retiring from the military with 23 years of service.

Giuseppe "Joe" Labianca is a Gatton Endowed Associate Professor of Management in the UK Gatton College of Business and Economics. He joined the faculty in 2006. His research focuses on understanding interpersonal conflict from a social network perspective.

Graham D. Rowles is a professor of gerontology in the UK College of Public Health with joint appointments in the UK College of Nursing, the Department of Behavioral Science, the Department of Geography and the Department of Health Sciences.

J. Darlene Welsh is an assistant professor in the UK College of Nursing. She joined the faculty in 1990. She teaches senior baccalaureate students critical care principles and coordinates their senior capstone nursing course.

Started in 1961, the Great Teacher Award is the oldest continuous award that recognizes teaching at UK. Nominations are made by students, and the selection of award recipients is made by the UK Alumni Association Great Teacher Award Committee, in cooperation with the student organization Omicron Delta Kappa. Great Teacher Award recipients each receive a citation, an engraved plaque and a cash award.

For more information, contact Gretchen Bower at or (859) 257-8700.