Campus News

Third Class of Chellgren Fellows Announced

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Sept. 22, 2009) − The University of Kentucky Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence has announced its third cohort of 21 Chellows (short for Chellgren Fellows).

The Chellgren Fellows Program is for students with exceptional academic potential and aspirations, who are eager to participate in a special learning community designed to cultivate extraordinary achievement. Outstanding faculty members from across campus serve as individual mentors for the Fellows. Through regular meetings and conversations, mentors will help the 21 students develop strategies for engaging in the intellectual life of the university.

The students selected as Chellows are: Elizabeth Dunn, Shady El-Maraghi, Lindsey Elza, Laura Feder, Lisa Fioretti, Amber Gay, Eric Gilland, Philip Houtz, Jun Huang, Matthew Hufford, Adesuwa Ighodaro, Sidrah Khan, Andrea Lowe, Courtney Lynch, Allison McVey, Kristyn Mickley, Deepa Patel, Megan Schultz, Zachary Willand, Fei Xiong and Alyssa Yson.

The Chellgren Fellows Program was made possible by the Chellgren Center, which is an intentional collaboration among prestigious undergraduate programs at the university, such as the Discovery Seminar Program, Education Abroad, eUreKa!, the Honors Program, Intercollegiate Debate, Living-Learning Communities and the Office of External Scholarships.