Campus News

Blue-Ribbon Committee for Graduate Education to Host Open Forum

photo of students studying in Gatton College

LEXINGTON, Ky. (April 24, 2017) — To continue with its charge, envisioning the future of the graduate student experience and developing a rigorous intellectual vision for graduate education, the Blue-Ribbon Committee for Graduate Education will host an open forum to hear from members of the university community.

The open forum will take place 4-5:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 25, in the Lexmark Public Room (Room 209) of the Main Building. The purpose of the forum is to answer any questions related to the charge of the panel and what the panel has accomplished to date.

The Blue-Ribbon Committee was formed in cooperation with the UK Graduate School and University Senate Council to perform a comprehensive analysis of graduate education at the institution. Ultimately, the Blue-Ribbon Committee is tasked with “envisioning the graduate student experience and developing a rigorous intellectual vision for the University of Kentucky’s graduate education mission for the next 10-15 years.”

After the final report is released and recommendations adopted, the colleges, necessary campus entities and deliberative bodies will begin implementation in January 2018. 

Members of the Provost’s Blue-Ribbon Committee on Graduate Education are:

  • Carl Mattacola, College of Health Sciences, chair;
  • Brett Spear, College of Medicine, co-chair;
  • Mark Coyne, College of Agriculture, Food and  Environment;
  • Mark Lauersdorf, College of Arts and Sciences;
  • Sarah Lyon, College of Arts and Sciences;
  • Jenny Minier, Gatton College of Business and Economics;
  • Terry Lennie, College of Nursing;
  • Beth Barnes, College of Communication and Information; 
  • Greg Luhan, College of Design;
  • Beth Rous, College of Education;
  • David Puleo, College of Engineering;
  • Zach Hilt, College of Engineering;
  • Rachel Shane, College of Fine Arts;
  • Donna Kwon, College of Fine Arts;
  • Katie Cardarelli, College of Public Health;
  • Gabriela Jiskrova, student;
  • Kaylynne Glover, student;
  • Donna Arnett, dean of UK College of Public Health;
  • Kip Guy, dean of UK College of Pharmacy;
  • Mark Kornbluh, dean of UK College of Arts and Sciences;
  • Ann Vail, interim dean of College of Social Work; and
  • David Brennen, dean of UK College of Law (ex-officio).


UK is the University for Kentucky. At UK, we are educating more students, treating more patients with complex illnesses and conducting more research and service than at any time in our 150-year history. To read more about the UK story and how you can support continued investment in your university and the Commonwealth, go to: #uk4ky #seeblue