Professional News

Jazmin Brown-Iannuzzi Receives Course Hero Woodrow Wilson Foundation Fellowship

Jazmin Brown-Ianuzzi
Jazmin Brown-Ianuzzi, assistant professor of psychology, is one of five young scholars selected for the inaugural Course Hero Woodrow Wilson Fellowship for Excellence in Teaching.

Lexington, Ky. (July 27, 2018) — Jazmin Brown-Iannuzzi, assistant professor of psychology in the University of Kentucky College of Arts and Sciences, is one of five young scholars selected for the inaugural Course Hero Woodrow Wilson Fellowship for Excellence in Teaching.

The fellowship supports rising stars who love teaching, demonstrate excellence as educators and are shaping their fields with exceptional research. The fellowship is a "genius grant" that emphasizes the balance between scholarly excellence and an approach to teaching that creates a new level of engagement for students in and beyond the classroom. Fellowship recipients are emerging heroes in their fields and on a clear trajectory to become great college educators.

Brown-Iannuzzi, who teaches applied statistics in psychology, said the fellowship will allow student assistants to create an innovative online platform to help educate and engage students in applied statistics.

"Although many people may fear statistics classes, statistical information is constantly bombarding everyone. Advertisements, political campaigns and the media are constantly using statistical information to disseminate information or persuade. Thus, it is imperative that students are educated consumers of statistical information," Brown-Iannuzzi said. "Course Hero is providing a unique opportunity for myself and some student assistants to create an interactive online platform to teach applied statistics through relevant, real-world example questions. We hope these questions will be engaging and will have broad appeal to educators and students. And, the online platform allows for broad access."

Brown-Iannuzzi attended the Course Hero Education Summit this month, along with the four other winners, where their fellowships were announced.