Professional News

Outstanding Staff Awards Announced

photo of award winners in stands at Kroger Field
Hillary Glenn, Staff and Overall Winner
Sabrina Brewer, Faculty Winner
Grace Johnson, Student Winner

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Nov. 1, 2019) — Nearly 75 University of Kentucky staff members were honored recently by their colleges and divisions during the 2019 Outstanding Staff Awards (OSA) recognition ceremony. This is the 10th year for the event.

Sponsored by the President's Office and UK Staff Senate, the Outstanding Staff Awards recognize staff members who have been given an award within their department on a university level. Over 150 people were in attendance to honor the 72 staff members who received departmental awards.

In addition to the departmental winners, 15 finalists and three winners were named for the campuswide Outstanding Staff Awards. Each award is driven by nominations from either student, staff or faculty.

Outstanding Staff Award winners and finalists were:

  • Faculty Recognition – Sabrina Brewer (winner), Sheila Brothers, Terri Dawson, Mary Ann Isaacs, Lisa Witt
  • Student Recognition – Grace Johnson (winner), Sandy Anderson, Shelley Ferrin, Zac Lewis, Mark Williams
  • Staff Recognition – Hillary Glenn (winner), Christy Chapman, Michelle Garth, Carol Taylor Shim, Daun Wickline

Glenn, the staff recognition winner, was also named Outstanding Staff Member of the year. Glenn works in the Pre-Op Clinic in UK HealthCare. She came into the office more than two hours prior to her shift to accompany a patient who had no family through a procedure. She said she felt that people should not have to go through “something like that” on their own.

“Hillary (Glenn) is the type of staff member we should all aspire to be," Jon Gent, chair of the Staff Senate, said. "All of our winners and finalists show the importance of a job well done, and we’re happy that this event allows us to tell these sorts of stories about the University of Kentucky family.”

The 72 OSA winners represented over 40 colleges and administrative units across the university. In addition, UK's cardiopulmonary team was recognized for winning the Quilt of Teamwork Award for Nursing Support.

The 2019 OSA department winners are:

  • Tarin Adams
  • Mitch Barnhart
  • Ann Bassoni
  • David Beach
  • Christina Bevevino
  • Nathaniel “Louie” Bosworth III
  • April Brooks
  • Will Buntin
  • Allison Burton
  • John Caldora
  • Rebecca Charles
  • Kathy Collins
  • Nicholas Cprek
  • Caroline Crane
  • James Crowden
  • John Cruz
  • Chance Davenport
  • Michelle Del Toro
  • Cheikh Diop
  • Deborah Michelle Dunn
  • Lori Eckdahl
  • Jennifer Forman
  • Crista Fornash
  • Danielle Gabbard
  • Sherry Griggs
  • Hugo Hamilton
  • Beth Hanneman
  • Tanya Harper
  • Jacob Heil
  • Jennifer Herrin
  • Tammy Herring
  • Libby Hogan
  • Andrea Howard
  • Keisha Humphries
  • James Hutchins
  • Nicki Jenkins
  • Lynne Jensen
  • Nita Khatiwada
  • Clinton Knight
  • Eileen Kopp
  • Kristie Law
  • Kara Lee
  • Joseph Lohr
  • Michelle Lowe
  • Kimberly Maggard
  • Robby Martin-Curry
  • Brandy Mathews
  • Betty McCann
  • Diane Mier
  • Kristi Moore
  • Robin Notton
  • Mary Payton
  • Jamie Risen
  • Karolyn Roberts
  • Chris Rodgers
  • Alyssa Rose
  • Terri Runyon
  • Jennif​er Sciantarelli
  • Marcia Shrout
  • Patrick Smith
  • Bob Stokes
  • Lindsay Stradtman
  • Kai Su
  • Ward Suthon
  • Lisa Thompson
  • Pam Thompson
  • Chad Tucker
  • Bailey Ubellacker
  • Katy Walker
  • Teri Walters
  • Pat Whitlow
  • Laura Williams

For more information on Staff Senate, visit their website

UK is the University for Kentucky. At UK, we are educating more students, treating more patients with complex illnesses and conducting more research and service than at any time in our 150-year history. To read more about the UK story and how you can support continued investment in your university and the Commonwealth, go to: #uk4ky #seeblue