Professional News

UK Extension Agents Earn National Awards

Portrait of UK Extension Agent representatives in formal attire with sponsored backdrop
UK extension agents received national recognition for their outstanding programming efforts. Photo by Kayla Watts, Breathitt County family and consumer sciences extension agent.

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Oct. 11, 2019) — University of Kentucky Cooperative Extension Service agents received national recognition for innovative programming and career accomplishments during the annual meeting of the National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences.

“All across Kentucky, family and consumer sciences extension agents are working to improve the quality of life for individuals and families,” said Jennifer Hunter, UK assistant director of family and consumer sciences extension. “Being recognized on a national level is a testament to the quality of programming they are providing to Kentucky.”

UK family and consumer sciences agents received distinguished service, continued excellence and program awards.

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes family and consumer sciences educators for their leadership, outstanding programs and personal and professional growth. It is the highest award presented by the association. Award recipients must have 10 or more years of service to the profession and the association. Winners include Crystal Osborne, Owsley County; Christy Nuetzman Guffey, Clinton County; and Melissa Goodman, Hickman County.

The Continued Excellence Award is given to individuals who are actively involved in professional improvement programs, promote the professional development of colleagues and exhibit leadership. Winners must have 12 or more years of service and be a past recipient of the association’s Distinguished Service Award. Award winners include Nanette Banks, Letcher County; Amanda Hardy, Henderson County; and Hazel Jackson, Rockcastle County.

Julia Wilson of Edmonson County and her team won first place in the social media education-online video category. Team members include Rachel Hance of Logan County, Christy Ramey of Simpson County, Tracy Thornton of Butler County, Lynn Blankenship of Metcalfe County, LaToya Drake of Barren County, Janey Cline of Hart County and Jamille Hawkins, formerly of Monroe County.

Sherri Broderick of Gallatin County placed second in environmental education, and Amanda Hardy received second place in communication: TV/video.

As the state’s flagship, land-grant institution, the University of Kentucky exists to advance the Commonwealth. We do that by preparing the next generation of leaders — placing students at the heart of everything we do — and transforming the lives of Kentuckians through education, research and creative work, service and health care. We pride ourselves on being a catalyst for breakthroughs and a force for healing, a place where ingenuity unfolds. It's all made possible by our people — visionaries, disruptors and pioneers — who make up 200 academic programs, a $476.5 million research and development enterprise and a world-class medical center, all on one campus.   

In 2022, UK was ranked by Forbes as one of the “Best Employers for New Grads” and named a “Diversity Champion” by INSIGHT into Diversity, a testament to our commitment to advance Kentucky and create a community of belonging for everyone. While our mission looks different in many ways than it did in 1865, the vision of service to our Commonwealth and the world remains the same. We are the University for Kentucky.