32 Members, 1 Honorary Member Inducted Into Phi Beta Kappa

LEXINGTON, Ky. (April 23, 2019) The University of Kentucky chapter of Phi Beta Kappa recently inducted 32 new members, as well as a special honorary member, into the nation's oldest and widely recognized academic honor society.

Celebrating excellence in the liberal arts and sciences, Phi Beta Kappa elects more than 15,000 new members a year from 270 chapters across the United States. There are also more than 50 associations that create friendship and learning in members' communities providing a means for members to continue active affiliation with the society after graduation. 

"This cohort will be recognized as having been inducted into the oldest and most prestigious of honoraries in the United States," said Ernie Yanarella, chapter president and UK professor of political science. "The 32 students admitted will join six U.S. presidents, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, W.E.B. DuBois and a host of other intellectuals as part of this national fraternity."

This year, Phi Beta Kappa inducted UK President Eli Capilouto as an honorary member in the society. Yanarella said Capilouto is highly deserving of the honor.

"President Capilouto has improved the intellectual environment of this university, rebuilding much of its infrastructure, elevating and expanding the faculty and student research facilities, student services and teaching classrooms and laboratories across the campus," Yanarella said. 

During the induction ceremony, William Swinford, the president's chief-of-staff, was also awarded a plaque honoring his role as liaison between the Alpha Chapter and the UK administration and designating him "Friend of Phi Beta Kappa."

UK's Phi Beta Kappa chapter is supported by the Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence, which is part of the Division of Student and Academic Life at UK. 

The newest members of UK Phi Betta Kappa are:

  • Hadeel Abdallah
  • Garret Appleman
  • Johannah Ball
  • Katerina Banks
  • Elyse Finance 
  • Kinsey Booker 
  • Spencer Brainard 
  • Aleah Combs 
  • Michael Hamilton 
  • Karli Haubenreiser
  • Hannah Hollowell
  • Hollyann Huber
  • Onyinyechukwu Ibekwe
  • Benjamin Jones 
  • Elizaveta Khenner 
  • Anne Klette
  • Meghana Kudrimoti 
  • Sara Lee
  • Alexander Nguyen 
  • Eric Poore
  • Beau Revlett
  • Caleb Sansoucy
  • Amani Shalash 
  • Michelle Shamore
  • Stephanie Smith 
  • Sarah Smoak
  • Tiana Saint 
  • Lauren Thomas 
  • Elizabeth Van Curen
  • Amaris Wade
  • Savannah Wills 
  • Elizabeth Wnek
  • Olivia Wright
  • Honorary member, President Capilouto 
  • Special Member, Dr. L'lisa Gates