Two ISC Students Place in National Logo Design Competition


 LEXINGTON, Ky. (May 14, 2015)  Two integrated strategic communication (ISC) students have placed in the top five of a national logo design competition. Kelsey Brosseau’s entry was chosen as the runner-up and Allyson Lough’s design placed fifth.

The competition, held by the Visual Communication Division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC), was designed to encourage student submissions for the 2016 AEJMC Conference graphic that will be used in all promotional and marketing materials for the August 2016 conference to be held in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The winner also earned $100.

Brosseau and Lough participated as part of their ISC 497, graphic design for ISC, class led by Adriane Grumbein, University of Kentucky assistant professor of integrated strategic communication in the College of Communication and Information.

“I am very excited for my students to have taken two of the top five places in a national, and, to some degree, international, competition,” Grumbein said.  “I think it reflects on the caliber of students we have here at UK, and particularly in ISC,” she added.

ISC sequence coordinator Alyssa Eckman said this recognition is, “a step forward for our ISC program. Visuals are key elements of branding, and it’s awesome that our ISC students have earned national recognition the first time Dr. Grumbein has taught this design course.”

The winning entry was designed by Ethan Irelander from Virginia Commonwealth University and will be featured in all of the 2016 AEJMC conference marketing and promotional materials. Additionally, Marissa Jones of Abilene Christian University placed third and Amber Nunn of Biola University placed fourth.

The AEJMC traces is organizational roots back to 1912 and continues to hold annual conferences, to promote the highest standards for journalism and mass communication education, and to showcase a wide range of communication research. The Visual Communication Division, VisCom, began in 1982 with the merger of the Graphic Arts and Photojournalism Division of the AEJMC.

MEDIA CONTACT: Rebecca Stratton and Blair Hoover, (859) 323-2395;,