Student News

UK’s ODK Circle Announces 2022 Maurice A. Clay Awards

UK's Nu Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa celebrated outstanding seniors during a ceremony on Tuesday, April 12.

LEXINGTON, Ky. (April 15, 2022) — The University of Kentucky Nu Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society established the Maurice A. Clay Awards over 30 years ago to recognize an outstanding graduating senior in each academic college at the University of Kentucky. Winners are selected by the college’s dean or a dean’s representative, and are expected to be exceptional leaders who have provided service to their college while maintaining a strong academic record.

Omicron Delta Kappa recognizes superior scholarship, leadership and exemplary character. The Maurice A. Clay Awards are one way in which the UK Nu Circle of the National Leadership Society can bestow on graduating seniors a “Mark of High Distinction.”

Maurice A. Clay was an educator and professor at the University of Kentucky for more than 60 years. He was the epitome of service leadership, while assuming little recognition for himself. ODK hopes that each recipient will exemplify these characteristics in future endeavors.

The 2022 recipients are:

  • Maya Fuller, College of Agriculture, Food and Environment
  • Katherine Elliott, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Anna Scott, College of Business and Economics
  • Chance Baldwin, College of Communication and Information
  • Grace Butler, College of Design, School of Architecture
  • Krisia Estes, College of Design, School of Interiors
  • Chloe Ditka, College of Education
  • Alexander Barrera, College of Engineering
  • Mackenzie Walden, College of Fine Arts
  • Alexis Remshak, College of Health Sciences
  • Claire-Marie Hall, College of Nursing
  • Gabrielle Cochran, College of Public Health
  • Alexandra Pazdzior, College of Social Work

The Nu Circle celebrated these outstanding students on Tuesday, April 12, during an in-person ceremony and Circle Meeting.

“ODK is proud to organize this event and honor these student leaders from across campus,” said Abby Elbert, UK Nu Circle student president.

New student officers were also installed for 2022-2023: Abby Elbert, president; Hallie Rice, vice president; Jayla McCoy, social media/communications chair; Amelia Crotinger, activities chair and Kayli Bolton, membership chair. Faculty and staff advisors are Francisco Andrade, College of Medicine and C. Lynn Hiler, Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence.

Tune into the ODK and Chellgren Center social media outlets to help celebrate these outstanding students even more by sharing their ODK – MAC posts.

Omicron Delta Kappa is supported on campus by the Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence within the Office of the Provost. For more information, contact

The University of Kentucky is increasingly the first choice for students, faculty and staff to pursue their passions and their professional goals. In the last two years, Forbes has named UK among the best employers for diversity, and INSIGHT into Diversity recognized us as a Diversity Champion four years running. UK is ranked among the top 30 campuses in the nation for LGBTQ* inclusion and safety. UK has been judged a “Great College to Work for" three years in a row, and UK is among only 22 universities in the country on Forbes' list of "America's Best Employers."  We are ranked among the top 10 percent of public institutions for research expenditures — a tangible symbol of our breadth and depth as a university focused on discovery that changes lives and communities. And our patients know and appreciate the fact that UK HealthCare has been named the state’s top hospital for five straight years. Accolades and honors are great. But they are more important for what they represent: the idea that creating a community of belonging and commitment to excellence is how we honor our mission to be not simply the University of Kentucky, but the University for Kentucky.