UK HealthCare Boasts 122 "Best Doctors in America"

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Dec. 8, 2009) — This year’s list of the "Best Doctors in America" includes 122 UK HealthCare physicians. UK HealthCare's list of Best Doctors has grown from 64 physicians listed in 2005. 

"We are very proud of our outstanding clinical faculty, who are distinguished by their skill and by their dedication to our community," said Dr. Michael Karpf, UK's executive vice president for health affairs. "It is fitting and appropriate for them to be recognized among the nation's best physicians."

Improvements in the quality and range of the clinical faculty is the result of a deliberate effort on the part of UK HealthCare.  Part of being a "Top 20" academic medical center is having the depth and breadth of clinical expertise to provide the most advanced, complex medical care.

Successful recruitment of stellar medical staff provides the “underpinning to our philosophy that no matter what type of health care problems you have, you don’t have to leave Kentucky to get the care you need,” said Dr. Jay Perman, dean of the UK College of Medicine and vice president for clinical affairs. 

The public can call (859) 257-1000 or 1-800-333-8874 to get a copy of the list of Best Doctors or to make an appointment with a UK physician.

Best Doctors surveyed physicians nationwide and asked them: “If you or a loved one needed a doctor in your specialty, to whom would you refer them?”

The following UK physicians were honored in this year’s list of Best Doctors in America:

Kenneth B. Ain, Endocrinology and Metabolism

Jayakrishna Ambati, Ophthalmology

Michael I. Anstead, Pediatric Pulmonology

Sanford M. Archer, Otolaryngology

Susanne M. Arnold, Medical Oncology and Hematology

Henrietta Bada-Ellzey, Neonatology

C. William Balke, Cardiovascular Disease

Hubert O. Ballard, Neonatology

Robert J. Baumann, Pediatric Neurology

Joseph R. Berger, Neurology

Rolando Berger, Critical Care and  Pulmonary Medicine

Andrew C. Bernard, Critical Care Medicine

Louis I. Bezold III, Pediatric Cardiology

Peter J. Blackburn, Ophthalmology

Christopher A. Boarman, Pediatrics

David C. Booth, Cardiovascular Disease

Edwin A. Bowe, Anesthesiology

J. Timothy Bricker, Pediatric Cardiology

Robert A. Broughton, Pediatric Infectious Disease

Raeford E. Brown,  Jr., Pediatric Anesthesiology

Franca Cambi, Neurology

Seema Capoor, Ophthalmology

T. Shawn Caudill, Internal Medicine

Michael L. Cibull, Pathology

Rebbeca Collins, Pediatrics

John D. Conklin,  Jr., Ophthalmology

Leslie J. Crofford, Rheumatology

Paul D. DePriest, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Philip A. DeSimone, Medical Oncology and Hematology

Willem J.S. de Villiers, Gastroenterology

Dennis Doherty, Pulmonary Medicine

John H. Eichhorn, Anesthesiology

Eric D. Endean, Vascular Surgery

Deborah R. Erickson, Urology

Brenda G. Fahy, Critical Care Medicine/ Anesthesiology

Toufic A. Fakhoury, Neurology

Jacqueline S. Gibson, Internal Medicine

Donna G. Grigsby, Pediatrics

John C. Gurley, Cardiovascular Disease

Wendy F. Hansen, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Richard C. Haydon III, Otolaryngology

Sidney A. Houff, Neurology

Ardis Hoven, Infectious Disease

Joseph A. Iocono, Pediatric Surgeon

Mary Lloyd Ireland, Orthopaedic Surgery

Gregory A. Jicha, Neurology

Darren L. Johnson, Orthopaedic Surgery

Raleigh O. Jones, Otolaryngology

Jamshed F. Kanga, Pediatric Pulmonology

Dennis Karounos, Endocrinology and Metabolism

Edward J. Kasarskis, Neurology

Paul A. Kearney, Surgery/Critical Care Medicine

Philip A. Kern, Endocrinology and Metabolism

Stefan G. Kiessling, Pediatric Nephrology

Gerald V. Klim, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Mahesh R. Kudrimoti, Radiation Oncology

Kristine Y. Lain, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Cheri D. Landers, Pediatric Critical Care Medicine

Philip B. Latham, Pediatrics

Robert W. Lightfoot,  Jr., Rheumatology

Richard Lock, Anesthesiology

Richard P. Lofgren, Internal Medicine

Grace F. Maguire, Pediatrics

Scott D. Mair, Orthopaedic Surgery

Hartmut H. Malluche, Nephrology

Kevin T. McDonagh, Medical Oncology and Hematology

Ronald C. McGarry, Radiation Oncology

Patrick C. McGrath, Surgical Oncology

David J. Minion, Vascular Surgery

David J. Moliterno, Cardiovascular Disease

Jeffrey A. Moscow, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology

Debabrata P. Mukherjee, Cardiovascular Disease

Timothy W. Mullett, Thoracic Surgery

Kenneth N. Muse,  Jr., Obstetrics and Gynecology/Reproductive Endocrinology

Sharon Napier, Ophthalmology

Kevin R. Nelson, Neurology

Nicholas J. Nickl III, Gastroenterology

M. Elizabeth Oates, Nuclear Medicine

Mark L. Parrott, Pediatrics

P. Andrew Pearson, Ophthalmology

Jay A. Perman, Pediatric Gastroenterology/Nutrition

L. Creed Pettigrew,  Jr., Neurology

Barbara A. Phillips, Critical Care,  Pulmonary and Sleep Medicine

Thomas Pittman, Neurosurgery

Mark D. Plunkett, Pediatric Cardiothoracic Surgery

Andrew R. Pulito, Pediatric Surgery

Chandrashekhar Ramaiah, Thoracic Surgery

Marcus E. Randall, Radiation Oncology

Julie Ribes, Pathology

John J. Rinehart, Medical Oncology and Hematology

Kimberly Ringley, Pediatrics

William C. Robertson,  Jr., Pediatric Neurology

Edward H. Romond, Medical Oncology and Hematology

Randall G. Rowland, Urology

William H. St. Clair, Radiation Oncology

Sheila P. Sanders, Ophthalmology

B. Peter Sawaya, Nephrology

Randall Schell, Anesthesiology

Jeffrey Bryan Selby, Orthopaedic Surgery

William O. Shaffer, Orthopaedic Surgery

Harohalli Shashidhar, Pediatric Gastroeneterology

John Slevin, Neurology

David A. Sloan, Surgical Oncology

Charles D. Smith,  Jr., Neurology

Carol L. Steltenkamp, Pediatrics

Julia C. Stevens, Opthalmology

Phillip A. Tibbs, Neurosurgery

Dale E. Toney, Internal Medicine

Tarvez Tucker, Neurology/Pain Medicine

Fredrick R. Ueland, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Joseph Valentino, Otolaryngology

Woodford S. Van Meter, Ophthalmology

John R. van Nagell, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Henry C. Vasconez, Plastic Surgery

Maria C. Veling, Otolaryngology

Carmel Wallace, Pediatrics

Thomas F. Whayne,  Jr., Cardiovascular Disease

Kimberly S. Winchester, Anesthesiology

Peter Wong, Pediatrics

A. Byron Young, Neurosurgery

Thomas L. Young, Pediatrics

Joseph B. Zwischenberger, Thoracic Surgery/Critical Care Medicine