52 Wildcats on SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll

LEXINGTON, Ky. (July 13, 2012) – A total of 52 University of Kentucky student-athletes were named to the Southeastern Conference First-Year Academic Honor Roll for their impressive achievements in the classroom, the league office announced Thursday.

The 2012 SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll is based on grades from the 2011 summer, 2011 fall and 2012 spring terms.

A total of 608 student-athletes were named to the 2012 SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll, while a total of 2,581 student-athletes around the league earned academic honor roll recognition in 2011-12.

Each student-athlete eligible for the honor roll must have a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution, be on scholarship or a letter winner, have completed 24 semester hours of non-remedial credit at the nominating institution, and have been a member of the varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA championship segment.

A complete list of UK honor roll recipients is below.

Name                           Sport                            Major

Cole Evans                  Baseball                      Business Management

Max Kuhn                   Baseball                      Undergraduate Studies

A.J. Reed                     Baseball                      Mathematics Education

Ryan Harrow               Men’s Basketball        Communication

Brian Long                   Men’s Basketball        Undergraduate Studies

Sam Malone                 Men’s Basketball        Undergraduate Studies

Kyle Wiltjer                  Men’s Basketball        Undergraduate Studies

Will Bishop                  Men’s Golf                  Business Management

Todd McDaniel            Men’s Golf                  Civil Engineering

Aaron Holsopple          Rifle                             Business Management

Cody Manning             Rifle                             Agricultural Biotechnology

Jonathan Pinkel            Rifle                             Mechanical Engineering

John Sutton                  Rifle                             Agricultural Biotechnology

Lindsay Griggs            Softball                                    Civil Engineering

Kara Howard               Softball                                    Animal Sciences

Griffin Joiner               Softball                                    Exercise Science

Jack Van Arsdale        Men’s Soccer                Exercise Science/Biology

Emma Brown              Women’s Soccer                     Exercise Science

Taylor Mogel              Women’s Soccer                     Nutrition and Food Science

Stuart Pope                 Women’s Soccer                     Equine Science and Management

Kayla Price                  Women’s Soccer                     Exercise Science

Erin Simon                   Women’s Soccer                     Journalism

Matt Davis                   Men’s Swimming                    Psychology/Biology

Brent Dillon                 Men’s Swimming                    Political Science

Kyle Lang                     Men’s Swimming                    Human Nutrition

John Resch                   Men’s Swimming                    Biology

Chris Rush                   Men’s Swimming                    Undergraduate Studies

Calder Staben              Men’s Swimming                    Biology/Art History

Christina Bechtel        Women’s Swimming               Business Management

Christa Cabot              Women’s Swimming               Psychology/Exercise Science

Sarah Chewning          Women’s Swimming               Media Arts and Studies

Lindsay Hill                 Women’s Swimming               International Studies

Blair Kuethe                Women’s Swimming               Undergraduate Studies

Abby Myers                 Women’s Swimming               Nutrition and Food Sciences

Caroline Pitts               Women’s Swimming               Nutrition and Food Sciences

Shannon Reynolds       Women’s Swimming               Undergraduate Studies

Samantha Shaheen      Women’s Swimming               Psychology

Brett Johnson               Men’s Tennis                           Accounting

Lauren Doll                  Women’s Tennis                     Nursing

Stephanie Fox               Women’s Tennis                     Undergraduate Studies

Edmee Morin-Kougoucheff     Women’s Tennis         Undergraduate Studies

Lyndsey Pickett                        Women’s Tennis         Communication Disorders

Grace Trimble                          Women’s Tennis          Political Science

Raymond Dykstra        Men’s Track/CC                      Exercise Science

Jared Phillips               Men’s Track/CC                      Chemical Engineering

Jacob Wildenmann      Men’s Track/CC                      History

Mackay Wilson           Men’s Track/CC                      Mechanical Engineering

Brittany Britt               Women’s Track/CC                 Exercise Science

Devinn Cartwright      Women’s Track/CC                 Biology

Angelica Whaley         Women’s Track/CC                 Exercise Science

Jackie Napper              Volleyball                                Marketing

Lauren O’Conner         Volleyball                                Marketing


MEDIA CONTACTSChris Shoals or Tony Neely, (859) 257-3838