Thirty-one Students Named to 25th Class of Otis A. Singletary Scholars


LEXINGTON, Ky. (Sept. 17, 2010) – During his remarks at the State of the University Address, UK President Lee T. Todd Jr. reflected on the innovative spirit of the campus. He also recognized some of UK’s newest innovative thinkers and scholars – the 25th class of Otis A. Singletary Scholars.

The Singletary Scholarship is the most prestigious four-year scholarship awarded by the University of Kentucky. The scholarship, which is named for former UK President Otis A. Singletary, began in 1985 and covers the full cost of tuition, room and board, and a personal stipend for four years of undergraduate study. The scholarship is valued at approximately $60,000.

The fall 2010 Singletary Scholars were selected from 637 eligible candidates and include three National Merit Finalists, 15 valedictorians and 20 Kentucky Governor’s Scholars.

“This year marks the 25th anniversary of our prestigious Singletary Scholars program, and I am excited to once again welcome our new scholars to campus,” said President Todd. “For the past 25 years, our Singletary Scholars have set the academic tone for the university, and I am confident this cohort of scholars will do the same.”

To be eligible, students must score 31 or higher on the American College Test (ACT) or 1360 combined math and critical reading scores on the Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT), and have a minimum high school grade point average of 3.75. The selection committee also considers extracurricular activities, work and volunteer responsibilities, leadership involvement, a written essay and a personal interview.

The 2010 recipients of the Singletary Scholarships are (listed alphabetically by last name): Parker Lee Ball, a graduate of West Jessamine High School; Elizabeth Nicole Bauer, a graduate of Centralia High School in Centralia, Ill., daughter of Liz and Scott Bauer; Matthew Michael Bendure, a graduate of Madison Central High School, son of Richard and Elizabeth Bendure; Johanna Ariel Blythe Reske, a graduate of Ryle High School; Katelyn Lou Ann Brown, a graduate of Madisonville North Hopkins High School, daughter of Dr. Terry and Jamie Brown; Kristen Leigh Burke, a graduate of Pike County Central High School, daughter of Lee and Jennifer Burke;

Thomas Joseph Crush, a graduate of Trinity High School, son of Tom and Brigid Crush; Desirae Theresa Duncan, a graduate of John Hardin High School, daughter of Phil and Theresa Duncan; Stephanie Diane Lee Gibson, a graduate of Henderson City High School, daughter of James and Catherine Gibson; Alexander Etienne Hare, a graduate of Rowan County Senior High School, son of Timothy and Janelle Hare; Sarah Lee Hayden, a graduate of Father Ryan High School in Williamson, Tenn.; Byron Richard Hempel, a graduate of Danville High School, son of Richard and Sarah Hempel; Allyson L. Hughes, a graduate of Owensboro Senior High School;

Drake Stuart Jackson, a graduate of Christian Fellowship School, son of Lori Freeland and Dean Jackson; Shelby Patrick Jones, a graduate of Fulton City High School, son of Dr. Alan W. and Elizabeth R. Jones; William Thomas Kennedy, a graduate of Saint Xavier High School; Anne Marie Kirk, a graduate of Henry Clay High School; Jessime Murray Kirk, a graduate of Fleming County High School, daughter of Charles and Linda Kirk; Aaron Joel Labrado, a graduate of Dawson Springs High School, son of Jose and Dianne H. Labrado; Kendall Annette Mallory, a graduate of Scott County Senior High School, daughter of Ryan and Sherri Mitchell and Tim and Dee Mallory;

Sean Catherine Meloney, a graduate of Daviess County High School; Hayley Ann Myers, a graduate of Scott High School, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. David M. Myers; Benjamin Daniel Norton, a graduate of Oldham County Senior High School, son of Daniel and Mary Ann Norton; Andrew Ritzel, a graduate of Bellbrook in Dayon, Ohio, son of Joseph and Johanna Ritzel; Bryan A. Robbins, a graduate of Bell County High School, son of Anthony and Zelda Robbins; Mariah Caitlyn Rowland, a graduate of Franklin Simpson High School, daughter of Wesley and Pam Rowland; James Adam Schilt, a graduate of Barbourville High School, son of Jim and Glenda Schilt; Breanna Michelle Shelton, a graduate of Russellville High School, daughter of Robert and Susannah Nelson and Keith and Kim Shelton;

Jeremy Paul Swiney, a graduate of Magoffin County High School, son of Jerry and Debbie Swiney; Patrick Davis VanMeter, a graduate of Green County High School, son of John and Paula VanMeter; and Kari Anne Williamson, a graduate of Knox Central High School, daughter of Cindy Williamson and the late Bruce Williamson.