Student News

Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence Announces 2021 Class of Chellgren Student Fellows

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Aug. 23, 2021) — The University of Kentucky Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence is honored to announce the 2021 class of Chellgren Student Fellows.

The Chellgren Center Student Fellows Program aligns with the university’s goal of cultivating undergraduate excellence. By providing experiences that go beyond the classroom, students become prepared for the next phase of their career, whether it be graduate school, a position in their field, or a gap year dedicated to service. Created in 2005 with a gift from Paul Chellgren, a UK graduate, and his family, the Chellgren Center creates unique educational opportunities for outstanding undergraduate students and professors at the university. Chellgren’s commitment to undergraduate education at UK has impacted thousands by creating countless number of opportunities for UK students, staff and faculty.

The last academic year was certainly like no other, but the Chellgren Center is excited to return to a more traditional experience for the 2021 cohort of Chellgren Student Fellows as we celebrate our 15th year. Plans are also underway to add new opportunities for students, which will soon be shared. Philipp Kraemer, Chellgren chair, is optimistic about the coming year. “Technology certainly enabled the university to implement a meaningful higher education experience despite the pandemic, but we all look forward to a return to an in-person learning community.”

The 2021-2022 Fellows are:

College of Agriculture, Food and Environment

Chase Eastham

Megan Johnston

Bailey Smith

College of Arts and Sciences

Olivia Allran

Madison Baker

Isha Chauhan

Ryan Crane

Christine Haddad

Leena Haider

Shria Holla

Tesslyn Hutchinson

Katelyn Keen

Abbey Loar

Boston Oliver

Emma Poole

Nicholas Relich

Hallie Rice

Ross Shumard

Lakyn Steffen

Caroline Sumner

Olivia Swanbeck

Zora Woolfolk

Gatton College of Business and Economics

Megan Wiley

College of Communication and Information

Eliza Crans

Nyah Marasigan

College of Engineering

Seun Adekunle

Catherine Cornwell

Anna Erpenbeck

Jackson Huse

College of Health Sciences

Elizabeth Ruschman

College of Public Health

Kassidy Maust

College of Social Work

Kotomi Yokokura

The Chellgren Student Fellows Program is supported by the Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence within the Office of the Provost. To learn more about the Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence, please visit

As the state’s flagship, land-grant institution, the University of Kentucky exists to advance the Commonwealth. We do that by preparing the next generation of leaders — placing students at the heart of everything we do — and transforming the lives of Kentuckians through education, research and creative work, service and health care. We pride ourselves on being a catalyst for breakthroughs and a force for healing, a place where ingenuity unfolds. It's all made possible by our people — visionaries, disruptors and pioneers — who make up 200 academic programs, a $476.5 million research and development enterprise and a world-class medical center, all on one campus.   

In 2022, UK was ranked by Forbes as one of the “Best Employers for New Grads” and named a “Diversity Champion” by INSIGHT into Diversity, a testament to our commitment to advance Kentucky and create a community of belonging for everyone. While our mission looks different in many ways than it did in 1865, the vision of service to our Commonwealth and the world remains the same. We are the University for Kentucky.