Student News

UK Omicron Delta Kappa inducted 30 new members during recent ceremony

Recent Omicron Delta Kappa (OΔK) inductees.

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Nov. 21, 2022) — The University of Kentucky Nu Circle of the national leadership honor society Omicron Delta Kappa (OΔK) inducted 30 new members at a ceremony on Sunday, Nov. 6, 2022. OΔK recognizes superior leadership and exemplary character and encourages collaboration among members across the five phases celebrated by the society: scholarship, athletics, service, communications and arts.

The UK circle was established May 2, 1925, and celebrates leaders across campus by co-hosting the Alumni Association Great Teacher Award and other honors like the Maurice A. Clay Outstanding Graduating Senior Award. In June 2022, UK hosted the organization’s National Leadership Conference.

Abigail Elbert, Nu Circle student president says, “We have a stellar group of inductees this year, and I believe we will see some really great things coming from OΔK as a result of their leadership abilities and their drive to achieve.”

Other student officers are: Hallie Rice, vice president/president-elect; Amelia Crotinger, activities chair; Kayli Bolton, membership chair; and Rich Hamlin, communications chair. Francisco Andrade, Ph.D., a professor in the College of Medicine, is the faculty advisor, and C. Lynn Hiler, the program coordinator in the Chellgren Center, is the staff advisor and Nu Circle coordinator.

The 2022-2023 inductees are:

College of Agriculture, Food and Environment

  • Ginny Lyle

College of Arts and Sciences

  • Sara Green
  • Ashley Bell Hamlet
  • Cameron Thomas Sauers
  • Nora Sypkens

Gatton College of Business and Economics

  • Sarah Elizabeth Parker
  • John Clayton Webb

College of Communication and Information

  • Kwame Amoa-Bosompem
  • Makel K. Taylor

College of Engineering

  • Asa Clarence O'Neal
  • Naphason Phothong
  • Nathan Andrew Sanders

College of Fine Arts

  • Karli Danielle Fee
  • Emmylou Tidwell

College of Health Sciences

  • Emma Pastirik
  • Neyati Patel
  • Rachel Woods

College of Nursing

  • Isabella Grace Williams 

College of Public Health

  • Caitlin Leialoha Deffendall
  • E. Hamilton
  • Samantha Grace Jones

College of Social Work

  • Beverly E Benoit
  • Mindi Fetterman
  • Stephanie Hernandez
  • Matthew Ryan Lunsford
  • Tyme Ramsey Glynn Nunn
  • Skylar Jo Richmiller
  • Richard Thomas Skeens
  • Chris La Berge Tylka-Olesen
  • Emily Winter

Join OΔK on its social media accounts (@ODKatUKY on Facebook and @ukyodk on Instagram) for celebratory shout outs to our newest members.

Omicron Delta Kappa is supported by the Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence within the Office of the Provost. For more information on membership, contact

As the state’s flagship, land-grant institution, the University of Kentucky exists to advance the Commonwealth. We do that by preparing the next generation of leaders — placing students at the heart of everything we do — and transforming the lives of Kentuckians through education, research and creative work, service and health care. We pride ourselves on being a catalyst for breakthroughs and a force for healing, a place where ingenuity unfolds. It's all made possible by our people — visionaries, disruptors and pioneers — who make up 200 academic programs, a $476.5 million research and development enterprise and a world-class medical center, all on one campus.   

In 2022, UK was ranked by Forbes as one of the “Best Employers for New Grads” and named a “Diversity Champion” by INSIGHT into Diversity, a testament to our commitment to advance Kentucky and create a community of belonging for everyone. While our mission looks different in many ways than it did in 1865, the vision of service to our Commonwealth and the world remains the same. We are the University for Kentucky.