Professional News

Anderson is President of National Pharmacy Accreditation Board

LEXINGTON, Ky. (July 2, 2010) -- Heidi Milia Anderson, associate provost for faculty affairs at the University of Kentucky and professor in the UK College of Pharmacy, recently has been elected president of the board of directors for the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the national agency for the accreditation of professional degree programs in pharmacy and providers of continuing pharmacy education.

Anderson was appointed to the board by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) for a term ending June 30, 2012.

Anderson has served in the UK provost’s office since 2006 and is responsible for coordinating the tenure and promotion process, managing the faculty development and leadership programs as well as assisting colleges with faculty hiring and personnel issues. Prior to her current appointment, she served as assistant dean for education innovation in the UK College of Pharmacy.

As an academic leader, she has received several notable distinctions. In 2004, she was selected as a Fellow in the charter class of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) Academic Leadership Fellows program. In 2005, the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) selected her as a Fellow for outstanding service and leadership to the pharmacy profession. In 2006, she was selected and completed a leadership and management institute for women in higher education through the Higher Education Resource Services (HERS) program at Wellesley College, and in 2009, she was selected to participate in the American Council on Education's (ACE) 2009 leadership forum for women administrators.

Anderson received her bachelor's and master's degrees as well as a Ph.D. from Purdue University. She has more than 20 years experience in teaching, learning, assessment and faculty development.

ACPE was established in 1932 and is an autonomous and independent agency whose board of directors is are comprised of members selected by AACP, APhA, the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP), and the American Council on Education (ACE).