Professional News

Gatton's Hardesty Earns Robertson Faculty Award

LEXINGTON, Ky. (April 25, 2011) — David Hardesty, the Thomas C. Simons Professor of Marketing in the University of Kentucky's Gatton College of Business and Economics recently was honored as the 2011 recipient of the Kenneth N. and Carol Lee Robertson Faculty Research Leadership Award.

The honor, which also carries a cash stipend, recognizes notable research achievements by a Gatton faculty member and is named in honor of the UK alumnus who currently serves as chair of the Gatton College Dean's Advisory Council, Kenneth Robertson, and his wife, Carol Lee.  The presentation was made during the recent Gatton College Alumni Hall of Fame weekend.

Hardesty, who serves as Gatton's marketing area director of graduate studies, also is director of the Von Allmen Behavioral Research Laboratory in the college.  He joined the Gatton faculty six years ago and his research is widely published in highly-respected national and international periodicals including the Journal of Consumer Research, the Journal of Marketing, and the Journal of Retailing.

"It is a great thrill to receive this honor," said Hardesty. "To be in the same company with previous winners of this award is quite humbling."

Past recipients of the Gatton College Robertson Faculty Leadership Award are:

Clyde W. Holsapple (2006); Bradford D. Jordan (2007); James P. Ziliak (2008); Glenn Blomquist and Daniel Brass (2009); and Christopher R. Bollinger (2010).


MEDIA CONTACT: Carl Nathe, (859) 257-1754, ext. 238; Michele Sparks, (859) 257-0040