Professional News

Nominations Being Taken for 2019 Clements Award for High School History/Civics Teachers

black and white photo of Governor Earle C. Clements seated at desk
Earle C. Clements seated at his desk as governor of Kentucky.

LEXINGTON, Ky. (April 9, 2019) The National Archives and the University of Kentucky Libraries Wendell  H. Ford Public Policy Research Center are now taking self-nominations for the Earle C. Clements Innovation in Education Award for Civics and History Teachers (Clements Award). The submission deadline is Friday, May 10.

The Clements Award recognizes promising and innovative Kentucky high school educators and honors the life and career of the late Earle C. Clements and his lifelong commitment to education and public service. Clements’ political career included service as a county sheriff, clerk and judge; in the state Senate and as governor; and in the U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate, where he was a close colleague of future President Lyndon Baines Johnson.

Up to three history and/or civics (social studies) teachers throughout the Commonwealth of Kentucky will be selected by an independent review panel for the Clements Award and will receive $1,000 each. The award criteria include the following:

  • teacher’s knowledge of, and enthusiasm for, the subject and commitment to increasing student awareness of the importance of public service;
  • impact on student success; and
  • evidence of creativity and innovation.

Interested applicants for the Clements Award must submit the following materials electronically or by mail postmarked no later than May 10:

  • a completed application;
  • a letter from applicant addressing criteria; and
  • a letter of support from principal.

In addition, applicants have the option to also submit a sample assignment and/or other supporting materials, including student letters of support.

Application packets may be completed electronically at or sent via mail to:

Clements Award

Wendell H. Ford Public Policy Research Center

Margaret I. King Library

University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY 40506-0039.

Winners of the Clements Award will be notified in May and the award ceremony will be held in summer.

For more information on the Clements Awards or to send questions, email Deirdre Scaggs, associate dean of UK Libraries Special Collections Research Center, at (include Clements Award in the subject line).

The National Archives is an independent federal agency that serves American democracy by safeguarding and preserving the records of our government, so people can discover, use and learn from this documentary heritage. The National Archives ensures continuing access to the essential documentation of the rights of American citizens and the actions of their government. From the Declaration of Independence to accounts of ordinary Americans, the holdings of the National Archives directly touch the lives of millions of people. The agency supports democracy, promotes civic education and facilitates historical understanding of our national experience. The National Archives carries out its mission through a nationwide network of archives, records centers and Presidential Libraries, and on the Internet at

The Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) at UK Libraries sustains the Commonwealth’s memory and serves as the essential bridge between past, present and future. By preserving materials documenting the social, cultural, economic and political history of Kentucky, the SCRC provides rich opportunities for students to expand their worldview and enhance their critical thinking skills. SCRC materials are used by scholars worldwide to advance original research and pioneer creative approaches to scholarship. UK Libraries SCRC is the Archives, the Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History, the King Library Press, the Wendell H. Ford Public Policy Research Center, the Bert T. Combs Appalachian Collection, the John G. Heyburn Initiative and ExploreUK.