58 New Members Inducted Into UK Chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society

LEXINGTON, Ky. (March 23, 2021) — The University of Kentucky chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta (ALD) National Honor Society inducted 58 new members at a virtual ceremony March 10. 

Alpha Lambda Delta celebrates academic excellence among first-year undergraduates. Students who earn a 3.5 grade point average or higher during their first semester at UK are eligible to join. The society has initiated more than 1 million students nationally. 

“It was fantastic that we were able to virtually acknowledge and celebrate our new members’ academic success,” said chapter president and agricultural and medical biotechnology junior Jessica Lamb. “We were able to display photographs and quotes from the inductees, making the ceremony more personable. These students have worked so diligently, despite having to adjust to college life during a pandemic. ALD is proud to have a community and fellowship among so many outstanding and devoted students here at UK.”

The spring 2021 inductees are: Dylan Adams, Olivia Allender, Bennett Arza, Claudia Elizabeth Benito, Hannah Bondi, Jennifer Bryant, Dylan Carson, Timothy Clark, Anna Collopy, Sofia Davis, Allison Day, Kyle Duell, Lauren Evans, Katherine Foellger, Kendall Ford, Gracey Gerrard, Tierany Guest, Madison Herman, Tyler Higdon, Alexander Hostettler, Gabriella Hunter, Amiliyan Jackson, Haleigh Kaelin, Sumin Karna, Samantha Kelly, Benjamin King, Yejin Ko, Rachel Korosec, Madelyn Leahey, Kaeley Lindfors, Heather Maounis, Logan McIntosh, Evan Meredith, Mikaela Mertz, Mahogany Mobley, Ashyah Morman, Madeline Nauman, Vivian Neal, Emily Ogle, Gabriel Oreskovich, Shloka Patel, Madison Patrick, Katherine Rankin, Joseph Reid, Safiyah Sadek, Jenin Saleh, Holden Tate Sandman, Conner Sinewe, Colton Smith, Mary Stoltz, Alyson Thomas, Joseph Valls, Rebecca Waden, Cayla Wood, Alena Woodson, Caroline Yandell, Anna Young and Jennifer Zimmerman.

“Congratulations to all the new inductees of Alpha Lambda Delta,” said Pat Whitlow, chapter advisor and director of the Office of Nationally Competitive Awards. “We are proud of your accomplishments in such a challenging introductory semester to your academic career at UK. My thanks to the ALD executive board, led by Jessica Lamb, for all of their efforts this year.”

Watch a recording of the ceremony here.

UK's Alpha Lambda Delta chapter is supported by the Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence and the Office of Nationally Competitive Awards in the Office of the Provost.

The University of Kentucky is increasingly the first choice for students, faculty and staff to pursue their passions and their professional goals. In the last two years, Forbes has named UK among the best employers for diversity, and INSIGHT into Diversity recognized us as a Diversity Champion four years running. UK is ranked among the top 30 campuses in the nation for LGBTQ* inclusion and safety. UK has been judged a “Great College to Work for" three years in a row, and UK is among only 22 universities in the country on Forbes' list of "America's Best Employers."  We are ranked among the top 10 percent of public institutions for research expenditures — a tangible symbol of our breadth and depth as a university focused on discovery that changes lives and communities. And our patients know and appreciate the fact that UK HealthCare has been named the state’s top hospital for five straight years. Accolades and honors are great. But they are more important for what they represent: the idea that creating a community of belonging and commitment to excellence is how we honor our mission to be not simply the University of Kentucky, but the University for Kentucky.