UK HealthCare

UK HealthCare Boasts 123 'Best Doctors in America'

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Dec. 14, 2009) — This year’s list of the “Best Doctors in America” includes 123 UK HealthCare physicians. UK HealthCare’s list of Best Doctors has grown from 64 physicians listed in 2005. 

“Successful recruitment of stellar medical staff provides the underpinning to our philosophy that no matter what type of health care problems you have, you don’t have to leave Kentucky to get the care you need,” said Dr. Michael Karpf, UK’s executive vice president for health affairs.

Improvements in the quality and range of the clinical faculty are the result of a deliberate effort on the part of UK HealthCare.  Part of being a “Top 20” academic medical center is having the depth and breadth of clinical expertise to provide the most advanced, complex medical care.

“We are very proud of our outstanding clinical faculty, who are distinguished by their skill and by their dedication to our community,” said Dr. Jay Perman, dean of the UK College of Medicine and vice president for clinical affairs. “It is fitting and appropriate for them to be recognized among the nation's best physicians.”

The public can call (859) 257-1000 or 1-800-333-8874 to get a copy of the list of Best Doctors or to make an appointment with a UK physician.

Best Doctors surveyed physicians nationwide and asked them: “If you or a loved one needed a doctor in your specialty, to whom would you refer them?”

The following UK physicians were honored in this year’s list of Best Doctors in America:

Kenneth B. Ain, Endocrinology and Metabolism

Jayakrishna Ambati, Ophthalmology

Michael I. Anstead, Pediatric Pulmonology

Sanford M. Archer, Otolaryngology

Susanne M. Arnold, Medical Oncology and Hematology

Henrietta Bada-Ellzey, Neonatology

C. William Balke, Cardiovascular Disease

Hubert O. Ballard, Neonatology

Robert J. Baumann, Pediatric Neurology

Joseph R. Berger, Neurology 

Rolando Berger, Critical Care and  Pulmonary Medicine

Andrew C. Bernard, Critical Care Medicine

Louis I. Bezold III, Pediatric Cardiology 

Peter J. Blackburn, Ophthalmology 

Christopher A. Boarman, Pediatrics

David C. Booth, Cardiovascular Disease 

Edwin A. Bowe, Anesthesiology 

J. Timothy Bricker, Pediatric Cardiology 

Robert A. Broughton, Pediatric Infectious Disease 

Raeford E. Brown Jr., Pediatric Anesthesiology 

Franca Cambi, Neurology 

Seema Capoor, Ophthalmology 

T. Shawn Caudill, Internal Medicine

Michael L. Cibull, Pathology 

Rebbeca Collins, Pediatrics

John D. Conklin Jr., Ophthalmology 

Leslie J. Crofford, Rheumatology 

Paul D. DePriest, Obstetrics and Gynecology 

Philip A. DeSimone, Medical Oncology and Hematology 

Willem J.S. de Villiers, Gastroenterology 

Dennis Doherty, Pulmonary Medicine

John H. Eichhorn, Anesthesiology 

Eric D. Endean, Vascular Surgery 

Deborah R. Erickson, Urology 

B. Mark Evers, Surgery 

Brenda G. Fahy, Critical Care Medicine/ Anesthesiology 

Toufic A. Fakhoury, Neurology 

Jacqueline S. Gibson, Internal Medicine

Donna G. Grigsby, Pediatrics

John C. Gurley, Cardiovascular Disease 

Wendy F. Hansen, Obstetrics and Gynecology 

Richard C. Haydon III, Otolaryngology 

Sidney A. Houff, Neurology 

Ardis Hoven, Infectious Disease 

Joseph A. Iocono, Pediatric Surgery 

Mary Lloyd Ireland, Orthopaedic Surgery 

Gregory A. Jicha, Neurology 

Darren L. Johnson, Orthopaedic Surgery 

Raleigh O. Jones, Otolaryngology 

Jamshed F. Kanga, Pediatric Pulmonology 

Dennis Karounos, Endocrinology and Metabolism 

Edward J. Kasarskis, Neurology 

Paul A. Kearney, Surgery/Critical Care Medicine

Philip A. Kern, Endocrinology and Metabolism 

Stefan G. Kiessling, Pediatric Nephrology 

Gerald V. Klim, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 

Mahesh R. Kudrimoti, Radiation Oncology 

Kristine Y. Lain, Obstetrics and Gynecology 

Cheri D. Landers, Pediatric Critical Care Medicine

Philip B. Latham, Pediatrics

Robert W. Lightfoot Jr., Rheumatology 

Richard Lock, Anesthesiology 

Richard P. Lofgren, Internal Medicine

Grace F. Maguire, Pediatrics

Scott D. Mair, Orthopaedic Surgery 

Hartmut H. Malluche, Nephrology 

Kevin T. McDonagh, Medical Oncology and Hematology 

Ronald C. McGarry, Radiation Oncology 

Patrick C. McGrath, Surgical Oncology 

David J. Minion, Vascular Surgery 

David J. Moliterno, Cardiovascular Disease 

Jeffrey A. Moscow, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology 

Debabrata P. Mukherjee, Cardiovascular Disease 

Timothy W. Mullett, Thoracic Surgery 

Kenneth N. Muse Jr., Obstetrics and Gynecology/Reproductive Endocrinology 

Sharon Napier, Ophthalmology 

Kevin R. Nelson, Neurology 

Nicholas J. Nickl III, Gastroenterology 

M. Elizabeth Oates, Nuclear Medicine

Mark L. Parrott, Pediatrics

P. Andrew Pearson, Ophthalmology 

Jay A. Perman, Pediatric Gastroenterology/Nutrition 

L. Creed Pettigrew Jr., Neurology 

Barbara A. Phillips, Critical Care,  Pulmonary and Sleep Medicine

Thomas Pittman, Neurosurgery 

Mark D. Plunkett, Pediatric Cardiothoracic Surgery 

Andrew R. Pulito, Pediatric Surgery 

Chandrashekhar Ramaiah, Thoracic Surgery 

Marcus E. Randall, Radiation Oncology 

Julie Ribes, Pathology 

John J. Rinehart, Medical Oncology and Hematology 

Kimberly Ringley, Pediatrics

William C. Robertson Jr., Pediatric Neurology 

Edward H. Romond, Medical Oncology and Hematology 

Randall G. Rowland, Urology 

William H. St. Clair, Radiation Oncology 

Sheila P. Sanders, Ophthalmology 

B. Peter Sawaya, Nephrology 

Randall Schell, Anesthesiology 

Jeffrey Bryan Selby, Orthopaedic Surgery 

William O. Shaffer, Orthopaedic Surgery 

Harohalli Shashidhar, Pediatric Gastroeneterology 

John Slevin, Neurology 

David A. Sloan, Surgical Oncology 

Charles D. Smith Jr., Neurology 

Carol L. Steltenkamp, Pediatrics

Julia C. Stevens, Opthalmology 

Phillip A. Tibbs, Neurosurgery 

Dale E. Toney, Internal Medicine

Tarvez Tucker, Neurology/Pain Medicine

Fredrick R. Ueland, Obstetrics and Gynecology 

Joseph Valentino, Otolaryngology 

Woodford S. Van Meter, Ophthalmology 

John R. van Nagell, Obstetrics and Gynecology 

Henry C. Vasconez, Plastic Surgery 

Maria C. Veling, Otolaryngology 

Carmel Wallace, Pediatrics

Thomas F. Whayne Jr., Cardiovascular Disease 

Kimberly S. Winchester, Anesthesiology 

Peter Wong, Pediatrics

A. Byron Young, Neurosurgery 

Thomas L. Young, Pediatrics 

Joseph B. Zwischenberger, Thoracic Surgery/Critical Care Medicine